Brian Waters Finalist For Man of the Year

Chiefs G Brian Waters is one of three finalists to receive the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award.

The winner will be announced on Super Bowl Sunday, just before kickoff.  The other finalists are Washington LB London Fletcher and Cleveland WR Mike Furrey.

The Payton Award is presented each year to honor an NFL player for his community service. Begun in 1970 as the NFL Man of the Year, it was renamed the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award in 1999, after the death of the Bears running back.

Waters is trying to become the fifth Chiefs player to receive the honor, joining MLB Willie Lanier (1972), QB Len Dawson (1973), LB Derrick Thomas (1993) and G Will Shields (2003). Waters was also a finalist for the award two years ago.

3 Responses to “Brian Waters Finalist For Man of the Year”

  • January 24, 2010  - arrowhead1978 says:

    I really hope that Waters gets it this year. He is an upstanding professional on the field and off of it. The chiefs need more players like him…

  • January 25, 2010  - Kevin B. says:

    I doubt it. #1 he played for the Chiefs this year, #2 he was in the news with a bad attitude early this year. Not likely

  • January 25, 2010  - Mad Chief says:


    The other two finalists are from Washington (Fletcher) and Cleveland (Furrey). I don’t think it will matter what the team did, as in record or “market” size. It’s based on service to the community. As a second time finalist, I think he’ll win this time. And even if he doesn’t, congratulations to Brian…and thanks for all your work.

Leave a Reply


Bottom of Bird Cage
Chiefs Players
College football
Cup O'Chiefs
Game Coverage
Hall of Fame
Herm Speaks
Mouth Of Todd
NFL Draft
NFL Review
Other News
Power Rankings
Practice Update
Training Camp