Charles, Berry Win Chiefs Highest Honors

The Chiefs announced on Thursday the winners of the franchise’s two highest honors for players.

RB Jamaal Charles was a repeat winner of the Derrick Thomas Award as the team’s MVP for the 2010 season. SS Eric Berry was the winner of the Mack Lee Hill Trophy as the team’s most inspirational rookie player.

Both honors came by vote of their teammates and come as no surprise based on their performances during the 2010 season when the Chiefs went 10-7 and won the AFC West title.

It’s just another trophy for Charles who was named first-team All-Pro and earned a spot in the Pro Bowl. He ran for 1,467 yards on 230 carries and five touchdowns during the regular season.

Charles became the fourth player in team history to win the MVP award in back to back seasons. The others were RB Priest Holmes (2001-02), QB Trent Green (2003-04) and RB Larry Johnson (2005-06).

First-round draft choice Berry earned Pro Bowl honors as an injury replacement after his first season of play, where he started 16 games and finished with 126 total tackles and four interceptions, which lead the K.C. defense.

As winner of the MLH Trophy, Berry joined an impressive group of winners over the last 45 years. Pro Football Hall of Famers K Jan Stenerud and LB Derrick Thomas were honored, as were potential Hall of Famers G Will Shields and TE Tony Gonzalez.

The players will receive their awards at the annual 101 Banquet on Saturday, March 5th.

Leave a Reply


2011 Senior Bowl
Chiefs Players
College football
Combine 2010
Combine 2011
Cup O'Chiefs
Draft 2010
Draft Profiles 2010
Game Coverage
Hall of Fame
Mouth Of Todd
Other News
Practice Update





         Copyright 2010 Bob Gretz. May not be used or reprinted without the expressed written consent of Bob Gretz.